air plant: flower

I have a collection of air plants, which I keep in a small greenhouse. I also keep succulents, bromeliads, and an orchid in the same greenhouse. And when I say greenhouse, I mean a small greenhouse made of powder coated metal and plexiglass – purchased from a popular European furniture store.

 While doing the weekly water spraying, I noticed something extraordinary with one of the air plants. I never thought this would happen. One of them produced a flower, and a pretty big flower. It hadn’t opened at the time of documentation. The flower was produced by an offspring of the mother air plant, which is still attached to the mother. Some of the leaves are flush pink at the tips. It really gives the flowered air plant a tropical lookup an otherwise typically green plant. It also reminds me of a description when women are pregnant, “glowing”.

Will share pictures when it blossoms. Happy gardening.

Leave a Reply

