what have I started? (tomatoes edition)

For anybody who is curious as to what seeds I’ve started.

Tomato Blue Beauty from Wild Boar Farms
As with any tomato, they start out green but these eventually turn a dark blue especially when exposed to direct sun. The blue parts of the blue do not taste any different than the red parts of the same tomato. I just think it’s fun to grow and consume blue tomatoes. Also, it’s blue attribute is also apparent in the plant itself – in the stems and leaves.

Tomato Spear’s Tennessee Green from Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds
These are one of the tomatoes that I thought I had started but didn’t, or was not successful in starting. In any case, these were started and properly labeled so in keeping track of these tomatoes.


Tiny Tim Tomato from Hudson Valley Seed Library
These are new to my collection of seeds so I don’t have much to say about these other than that I like the name and illustration on the package.

tiny tim tomato

Tomato Pork Chop from Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds
As I recall, these were prolific producers and they tasted great. The tomatoes can get pretty big – like a beefsteak.


Tomato Riesentraube from Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds
I had mixed success with these tomatoes. They were started late and thus I wasn’t able to enjoy the tomatoes from these plants but the produced bunches of tomatoes, similar to how grapes come in bunches.

 

Tomato German Red Strawberry from Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds
This is another plant that I had mixed success with. The tomatoes would end up getting bottom rot.

Here’s to a bountiful harvest.
Happy gardening. 🌱🍅

**Photos pulled from the Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds website except for the Tiny Tim Tomato.**

Leave a Reply

