peppers abound

We’ve got peppers! All pepper varieties are showing production; jalapeño, cayenne, shishito, and Paradicsom Alaku Sarga Szentes Pepper. I was worried that I might not have been successful with starting jalapeño peppers from seeds but the proof is here. The shishito peppers have been the most productive in producing peppers and harvesting them. I also noticed that the Hungarian peppers have a hard time becoming pollinated. Many of the blossoms just fell off the stem. So far, one blossom was pollinated. I hope I will get more than just one of these pumpkin shaped peppers growing on this plant.

Paradicsom Alaku Sarga Szentes Pepper

Sighting of a baby Paradicsom Alaku Sarga Szentes Pepper.

Long purple cayenne

Long purple cayenne peppers are growing off the stems.

Shishito peppers

Shishito peppers are popping up here, there, everywhere…

Jalapeño

Jalapeños making a happy surprise appearance.

Jalapeños are one of my favorite peppers that I like to grow and eat. They add a nice kick to a mince mixture of tomatoes, onions, and herbs like bruschetta and gazpacho. I might try making jalapeño poppers if I get a good enough yield. Cayenne is a great addition to homemade soups. They add a wonderful heat that is comforting and warm especially during cold winter evenings at home. Shishitos taste great when blistered in a pan over high heat but I wonder how else can I enjoy them? And I don’t know what or how the Hungarian pepper taste but it supposedly has “tremendous flavor”. Nobody has been able to describe the specifics of the flavor but people sure do like them.

So far, peppers are my favorite things to grow. They’re more rewarding than tomatoes, in my opinion. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a fresh, juicy tomato but so much can go wrong with growing tomatoes whereas, I’ve had little to no issues with peppers after transplanting them.

Do you have any recommendations for other types of peppers I should grow next year? If so, please leave your comment below?

Happy gardening.

Leave a Reply

