transplanting

It has been a busy weekend of transplanting and trellis building that started Memorial Day weekend. The transplants have been successful with little shock to the little green darlings. With the good weather we’ve been having, the plants will only thrive after being transplanted to more roomy pots so their roots can spread out and develop. The tomatoes have done really well, and I’m pleased with how they are growing. I still have more tomato plants ready to be transplanted and even more waiting to come out of the incubator. Most of the tomatoes were planted with companion herbs and plants that include sugar snap peas, peppers, and basil. I like pairing plants together especially when they can benefit from one another. For instance, peas fix nitrogen into the soil, which is beneficial to tomatoes and peppers. While tomato plants provide protection for the chili pepper plants from drying out and provide humidity.

Companion planting

Companion planting with tomato in the middle, sugar snap pea to the right, and a pepper plant to the left.

Tomato and sugar snap pea plants

Companion Planting with tomato and sugar snap pea.

I’ve also been training the sugar snap peas to grow up along the bamboo trellis. Some have take to it positively while others need a bit more help and guidance to get them climbing in the correct direction. I find it interesting how the vines grow, curl, and develop on the sugar snap pea plant. Some of the tendrils end up curling themselves into a ball. Rocquencourt bean plants The Rocquencourt bean plants were transplanted during Memorial weekend to a long planter and they look great. No transplant shock or damages to the leaves. They’re currently sitting along the edge of the balcony with a translucent panel that filters the sunlight. I think they’d be happier getting full sunshine. I’ll try to have them moved otherwise, I will relocate them this weekend.

Rocquencourt bean plants

A box of Rocquencourt bean plants.

Rocquencourt bean plants Rocquencourt bean plants Rocquencourt bean plant I have another long planter that is growing Cucumber Dragon’s Egg. The center one was transplanted several weeks ago while the two seedlings were directly sown and have been growing under protection of juice bottles. I’ve finally removed the plastic bottles, and I’m hoping this move will encourage the seedlings to grow faster and bigger. I’m really pleased with how big the leaves have grown on the middle plant. Now if only, it grows taller. Cucumber Dragon's Egg Cucumber Dragon's Egg I am also growing Cucumber Mexican Sour Gherkins, and started them in the incubator. One of these seedlings is growing quite nicely and I’m taking it as a cue that they need to be transplanted. I’ve planted these set of four Mexican Sour Gherkins in a large rectangular planter. There’s plenty of room for companion planting. I’m thinking I may plant a couple of long purple cayenne peppers. I have read that hot peppers like to be grouped with cucumbers.

Cucumber Mexican Sour Gherkin seedlings

Mexican Sour Gherkin seedlings.

There’s still more tomato plants that need to be transplanted, and that does not include the seedlings still in the incubator. I still don’t know which is what because my labels never arrived on time but I think I can tell which tomato plant is the Blue Beauty. Even though I can’t tell apart the variety of tomato plants, some of them still possess a blue-ish tint in the base of the stem.

Tomato blue beauty

I think this is a Blue Beauty tomato plant on the account of the blue-ish tint at the base of the stem.

Tomato blue beauty

Top view of the Blue Beauty tomato plant.

Plus, I have more tomato seedling in the incubator because we lost some when we had a cold snap, and windy weather. At least I know which ones are those – I think. We also have lots of pepper plants. Again, I didn’t label any of them with the exception of one, and I have dubbed them Hungarian peppers in the account that I can’t pronounce it’s actual name, or spell it. These peppers are called, Paradicsom Alaku Sarga Szentes.

20140601-145732-53852499.jpg

photo from rare seeds baker creek website

I think I only have three Hungarian pepper seedlings, which I transplanted into a large rectangular planter with cilantro that I bought from the Farmers’ Market. Long purple cayenne pepper seedlings Another set of pepper seedlings that I am almost positive is the long purple cayenne pepper seedlings. The blotchy purplish markings on the leaves helped me to identify the pepper plant. I’ll know for sure when it produces the cayenne peppers. Pepper seedling When I finally did get the labels, I planted 6 cells of Shishito peppers. So far, only two seedlings have emerged. They’re not ready to be transplanted. I also took the opportunity to plant more seeds in the cells that didn’t have seedlings with the hopes that they will sprout. I’m all excited about these peppers so I want to plant as many as I can handle. They taste amazing! At the moment, the balcony looks tidy and orderly because the plants are still in its early stages of life. Give it a month and the balcony will start to look like a jungle. One of the things I’ve learned from past experiences is that the plants don’t like to be crowded and they like air circulation around their leaves. I’ll manage the overcrowding but if I can maintain good air flow, the plants will be healthy and happy. The balcony Here’s to happy gardening.

Leave a Reply

