comfrey: update: blossoms

The comfrey buds eventually opened and I was able to get some picture of these pretty blossoms. The comfrey plant produced four stems, each with a cluster of buds. I took some pictures last weekend with my DSLR but have not gotten around to editing them. These pictures were taken with the Camera+ App on my iPhone 5.

Comfrey blossoms

Comfrey blossoms

These blossoms seem to last about a week after they open. Once the blossoms wither away, I cut down the thick stalks and use the cuttings as a fertilizing mulch. I’m not sure how much nutrients the comfrey plant absorbs seeing as I am growing it in a container but I suppose it’s better than nothing.

And it looks like more is on the way.

 

 

Leave a Reply

