wind is no friend of mine

This weekend was a mixed bag of emotions that ranged from happy to distraught.

The seeds I had started in March were starting to outgrow the tall domed incubator so I had then transplanted to small pots and placed outdoors. have been potted up. Just as we thought the weather was warming up, we received notification of a cold snap hitting our region. Despite our efforts to protect them, a few seedlings didn’t survive. I wasn’t too happy about it and didn’t dwell on the lost since I have plenty of seeds and started a replacement batch. Now we’re caught up.

Saturday was a nice spring day. I felt confident that we were going to get good warm weather and sunny skies from that point on. The day started off bright and towards the afternoon the skies were overcast that seemed to threaten rain. The subsequent batch of seeds sprouted, which included beans, cucumber varieties, tomatoes, and peppers. The beans were getting too big to stay in the incubator so I transplanted them into pots. They looked amazing. I was happy to see them out grow their shell/husk with a tall stem and two big leaves with more to come. The Dragon’s egg and Mexican Sour Gherkin were also transplanted to a long planter and protected with juice bottles (more on this later).

Sunday though was nice turned out to be windy especially when the balcony garden is on the eighth floor. I was upset to learn the beans that I transplanted were lost. Their tender leaves did not like being whipped by the winds. That was true for some of the tomato and pepper seedlings.

I was upset seeing my little green darlings getting smacked around by the winds so I moved them down to the floor and tucked them behind some of the larger pots so they may at least get some protection. They’ll still get sunlight on them but probably not as much as when they were propped up.

After reorganizing the pots, I emptied out the pots with damaged seedlings that couldn’t be saved, and replanted some of the injured seedlings where they were bruised at the soil line. I planted them deeper with the bruise buried with the hope that new roots will grow from the stem below the soil line. Mature tomato plants can grow roots at the stem if they are planted deep – I hope this works at their seedling stage.

Then I moved onto starting another batch of replacement seeds for the beans and peas in one of the empty incubators. And instead of keeping them indoors, I left it outdoors and also placed some seedlings in the incubator for protection from the winds. And when the time comes to transplant them to bigger pots, I’ll have a cloche to protect them with like I did for the cucumber seedlings.

Pepper seedlings

As I mentioned earlier, I transplanted 3 cucumber seedlings Saturday in a long planter box and protected each seedling with plastic juice bottles. The bottoms were cut off and the lids removed. They fitted perfectly over the cucumber seedlings. I pressed the bottles into the soil to secure them but one of the bottles was blown away as I learned the next day. I don’t know where it went but most likely it was blown off the balcony. Luckily, I had a replacement; a large clear plastic cup. I drilled holes at the bottom so it can get some air circulation, placed it firmly over the wind exposed cuc’ seedling. Hopefully, it will recover.

20140505-215000.jpg

Protecting recently potted seedlings from the harsh winds and keeping them relatively warm. In front are irises that were divided from the mother rhizome.

Cucumber seedling

Leave a Reply

